Let’s Have A Chat About Sunscreens

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about this whole “apply sunscreen every morning without fail” belief. Some days I won’t even see the sun, so applying sunscreen seems a little wasteful. So I’ve bundled all my thoughts in a little post to shed some (sun)light on this conundrum.

Let's Have A Chat About Sunscreens

So it’s clear that sunscreen stops you burning. For my skin, I tend to burn after  about 20mins in the sun. So if I’m not going to be in the sun for longer than 20 mins, what’s the point?? For example, I might only be in the sun while I walk to the train station, which is no longer than 20mins.

My facial sunscreen lasts for about 2 hours. If I apply it at 8am it’s going to be virtually useless at 10am – and I haven’t even had my lunch. Again I find myself thinking what’s the point? And in that two hours before, I hardly see any sun.

Obviously I am still wearing sunscreen. I live in Australia and I love going to the beach an laying out in the sun. But just not on a daily basis where I get a brief 20 mins in the sun.

And let’s not forget the questionable chemicals that are in sunscreens. I think it’s best to apply sunscreen when you need it, and not bother where you won’t be n the sun for too long.

The sunscreens I like to use are:

What are your thoughts on sunscreen?

x Suzy

 

Leave a Reply

